Home   |   Search Members   |   Sign In
Wisconsin Real Estate Alumni Network Blog
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (12) posts »

The WREAA 2017 Scholarship Recipients

Posted By Mandy Kaegy, Wisconsin Real Estate Alumni Association, Inc., Thursday, May 4, 2017


The 2017 Dianne M. Orbison Scholarship Award

The Dianne M. Orbison Memorial Real Estate Scholarship Award fund was established by the Wisconsin Real Estate Alumni Association thanks to the generous contributions of her family and so many classmates and friends of Dianne’s who expressed strong wishes to honor her memory as a loving person, good friend and strong leader.   Dianne is remembered for her collaborative approach in business, as a volunteer and advocate for the University of Wisconsin, and as a person who was a barrier breaker.  This scholarship award is intended to serve as an inspiration to undergraduates, graduate students and alumni of the real estate program as they pursue the fulfillment of their personal and career goals. The Wisconsin Real Estate Alumni Association is proud to continue the tradition of this important scholarship begun by Dianne, one of the many ways she found of "giving back". 


Criteria considered in making this scholarship award includes community service, enterprise management skills, leadership, curiosity, love of learning, sense of humor, common sense, and ability to rise to a challenge.  The scholarship is awarded to a female graduate or undergraduate real estate students.


The Wisconsin Real Estate Alumni Scholarships


In addition to providing alumni and affiliate members with numerous networking, business development, and professional development opportunities, the WREAA also provides financial resources for student scholarships for the UW Madison Real Estate Program.  Generous donations made to the alumni association by dedicated alumni and friends make possible the allocation of funding for these scholarships. WREAA was able to provide one $5,000 Scholarship to a graduate student, and two $2,000 scholarships to undergraduate students in 2017.




The Stephen Malpezzi Tradition and Innovation Scholarship


The Tradition and Innovation Scholarship is awarded in recognition of the long-standing service and dedication of Real Estate Professor Stephen Malpezzi, who retired in 2016 from his teaching role at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.


Applicants for the $5,000 scholarship were asked to write an essay answering the question "How will the Wisconsin Tradition in Real Estate Education impact your approach to your career and life following graduation?"


Emmet Gaffney, (BBA 2018) is the 2017 the recipient of the Tradition and Innovation Scholarship. 




This post has not been tagged.

Permalink | Comments (0)
Membership Management Software  ::  Legal